The First Pillar of Islam: The Muslim Profession of Faith

By Imam Kamil Mufti All practicing Muslims accept belief in the ‘Six Articles of Faith’ and are obliged to follow the ‘Five Pillars.’  They are: 1.    Muslim profession of faith orshahada. 2.    Ritual Prayer or salah. 3.    Obligatory Charity or zakah. 4.    Fasting or sawm. 5.    Pilgrimage or hajj. The First Pillar Muslim Profession of … Read more

The Second Pillar of Islam: The Prayer

By Imam Kamil Mufti Salah is the daily ritual prayer enjoined upon all Muslims as one of the five Pillars of Islam.  It is performed five times a day by all Muslims.  Salah is a precise worship, different from praying on the inspiration of the moment.  Muslims pray or, perhaps more correctly, worship five times … Read more

The Third Pillar of Islam: Compulsory Charity

By Imam Kamil Mufti Charity is not just recommended by Islam, it is required of every financially stable Muslim.  Giving charity to those who deserve it is part of Muslim character and one of the Five Pillars of Islamic practice. Zakat is viewed as “compulsory charity”; it is an obligation for those who have received their … Read more

The Fourth Pillar of Islam: The Fast of Ramadan

By IslamReligion.com Fasting is not unique to the Muslims.  It has been practiced for centuries in connection with religious ceremonies by Christians, Jews, Confucianists, Hindus, Taoists, and Jains.  God mentions this fact in the Quran: “O you who believe, fasting is prescribed for you as it was prescribed for those before you, that you may … Read more

The Fifth Pillar of Islam: The Pilgrimage (Hajj)

By Imam Kamil Mufti The Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca) is the fifth of the fundamental Muslim practices and institutions known as the five pillars of Islam.  Pilgrimage is not undertaken in Islam to the shrines of saints, to monasteries for help from holy men, or to sights where miracles are supposed to have occurred, even … Read more